One of he mos popular messaging applications especially in India is Hike messenger. Hike features are really great and that is why many people have chosen to use this application for instant messaging. But for any reasons, you may no longer be willing to use this application on your phone and that is why you might be looking for the way to delete your account. If you don’t know how to delete Hike account, I must tell you that it is in fact very easy to do so. In this article I will show you how you can easily deactivate Hike account if you no longer want to use it.
Why to delete Hike account if you don’t use it
As I mentioned before, Hike messenger is among the best mobile messaging applications. Hike application is very fun to use and it offers many wonderful features. However, for any reasons you might no longer want to use Hike or you may have decided to start using another app. If this is the case, an important point you need to remember is that you definitely need to delete Hike account before you remove the application from your phone. You might assume deleting the application from your phone would be enough, however, this is not the case. If you no longer want to use Hike application, make sure to delete your account before you remove the app. This is because if you don’t delete your account, your account will be left unattended and this will create the chance for hackers to hack Hike account and steal your data.
What happens when I delete Hike account?
What you need to know before you delete your Hike account is that this is an irreversible process. This means that once you delete your Hike account, you will not be able to take it back. This is because all your Hike data is stored locally and deleting your account will delete your data as well. Here is what happens when you delete Hike account:
- You will lose all your chat conversations and messaging history (Including Group chats).
- Your friend circle will be deleted permanently.
- You will lose all your free SMS balance (For Indian users only)
Steps to delete Hike account
There is no doubt that Hike messenger is a great application to use. But there are times when you no longer want to use this application. If this is the case, you may want to delete your account. Here are the steps you need to take in order to delete Hike account:
- Launch Hike application on your phone
- Tap on the gear icon or the three dots to open settings
- Tap an ‘Account‘
- Now click on ‘Delete Account‘
By following these simple steps, you will be able to easily delete Hike account.
How to log out of Hike
There are times when you no longer want to use Hike but only temporarily and you would want to get back to it in future. Here are the steps you need to take in order to deactivate Hike temporarily:
Launch Hike application on your phone. Go to Menu > Settings > Manage Account > Unlink Account. (For Android users on hike 2.5 and above : tap on options menu from your home screen > Settings > Account > Logout/Delete Account).
How to know if someone has deleted their Hike account?
Do you want to find out which one of your friends are no longer using Hike application and they have deleted their accounts? Well, this is also easy. When you delete Hike account, you will no longer appear in the list of favorite contacts of your friends. Also, if your friends have deleted their Hike account, your messages will not be delivered to them and you can only send offline SMS to them. Also, their online status will change to ‘A while ago‘.